Skip to main content

alpha This is a new site, your feedback will help us to improve it.

Cervical Cytology External Quality Assessment

Published on 04 March 2020

The Cervical Cytology External Quality Assessment (EQA) scheme is commissioned from NHS Tayside and funded by the National Services Division. It has two components:

  • Interpretive assessment
  • Educational slide circulation

The EQA scheme aims to:

  • Help establish and uphold minimum national standards in cervical cytology
  • Promote consistency in reporting across the country
  • Facilitate continuing education and professional development within laboratories, by providing regular access to interesting and relevant cytological material
  • Enhance the experience and confidence of cervical cytopathology staff in their reporting practice
  • Assist in meeting accreditation standards relating to EQA

Find out more about the cervical screening programme in Scotland.