Skip to main content

Critical care units (HBN 04-02)

Published on 06 October 2014

From: Health Facilities Scotland

Health Building Note 04-02 Critical care units.



Health Building Note 04-02 Critical care units This Health Building Note provides guidance on critical care units that admit patients whose dependency levels are classified as level 2 or 3 (see ‘Comprehensive Critical Care’, DH 2000, for definitions of levels of critical care). However, it does not distinguish between the different requirements for level 2 and 3 patients. It excludes facilities for the high-security isolation of patients, dedicated centres for burns patients and areas within the hospital where level 2 or 3 patients are managed on a time-limited basis.

This is an updated version of this Guidance document, please click here to see the archived version.

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email We will do our best to assist where possible and practicable. It would be helpful if you tell us what format you need and advise on any assistive technologies you are using.