Skip to main content

alpha This is a new site, your feedback will help us to improve it.

Find your Equipment Co-ordinator

Published on 22 October 2020

What do Equipment Co-ordinators do?

Equipment co-ordinators work closely with IRIC to manage equipment-related risks in NHS health boards or local authorities.

How we work with Equipment Co-ordinators

  • We share the information they give us with other health boards and local authorities
  • We organise meetings, conferences and workshops where they can raise specific issues and share their what they’ve learned with others
  • We work together with them on education and training programmes to promote the safety of medical devices and equipment

The chief executives in an organisation are responsible for appointing the Equipment Co-ordinator and making sure there is always someone in the role. If your Equipment Co-ordinator changes, let us know by emailing us at nss.iric@nhs.scot.

If you work for an NHS board or local authority, find out who your Equipment Co-ordinator is below:

NHS boards

NHS Ayrshire and Arran – Katie Bryant safetynoticedistributionmanager@aapct.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Borders – Shona Milne procurement@borders.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Dumfries and Galloway – David F Bryson david.bryson@nhs.scot

NHS Fife – Iain Forrest fife-uhb.safetyalerts@nhs.scot

NHS Forth Valley – Carole Hunter fv-uhb.risk-management@nhs.scot

NHS Grampian – Andrew Wood nhsg.safetyalertssystem@nhs.scot

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde – John Green healthandsafety.alerts@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Highland – Louise McInnes high-uhb.datix@nhs.scot

NHS Lanarkshire – William McManus ecd@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Lothian – Jo Bennett safety.alert@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Orkney – Stewart Walls ork-hb.clinicalgovernance@nhs.scot

NHS Shetland – Andrew Humphrey shet-hb.h-s@nhs.scot

NHS Tayside – Jean Ngoie clinicalgovernanceriskdept.tayside@nhs.scot

NHS Western Isles – Ross Munro wi-hb.equipcoord@nhs.scot

NHS Golden Jubilee – Steven Friel equipmentcoordinator@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk

NHS National Services Scotland – Norman Mclean norman.mclean@nhs.net

Scottish Ambulance Service – Sarah Jane Stevenson s.stevenson1@nhs.scot

The State Hospital – Nicola Watt n.watt@nhs.scot

Local authorities

Aberdeen City Council – Carol Fraser carolfraser@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Aberdeenshire Council – Andy Priest andrew.priest@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

Angus Council – Paul Conroy safety@angus.gov.uk

Argyll and Bute Council – James Littlejohn james.littlejohn@argyll-bute.gov.uk

Bon Accord Care – Liz Watt lwatt@bonaccordcare.org

City of Edinburgh Council – David Brown david.j.brown@edinburgh.gov.uk

Clackmannanshire Council – Seonaid Scott hands@clacks.gov.uk

Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council) – Kirsty Street kstreet@cne-siar.gsx.gov.uk

Dumfries and Galloway Council – Ann-Marie Connolly ann-marie.connolly@dumgal.gov.uk

Dundee City Council – Mark Henderson mark.henderson01@dundeecity.gov.uk

East Ayrshire Council – Craig Ross mda@east-ayrshire.gov.uk

East Dunbartonshire Council – Derrick Pearce derrick.pearce@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

East Lothian Council – Keith Flockhart kflockhart@eastlothian.gov.uk

East Renfrewshire Council – Chris Peacock chris.peacock@eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk

Falkirk Council – Michael Durrington health.safety@falkirk.gov.uk

Fife Council – Emma Collins emma.collins@fife.gov.uk

Glasgow City Council (1) – Kirsten Paterson (Equipment Co-ordinator) kirsten.paterson@sw.glasgow.gov.uk

Glasgow City Council (2) – Anne Findlay (Loan Store Manager) anne.findlay@glasgow.gov.uk

Highland Council – Gena Falconer healthsafetyandwellbeing@highland.gov.uk

Inverclyde Council – Pauline Ramsay health.safety@inverclyde.gov.uk

Midlothian Council – Mark Hinchliffe mark.hinchliffe@midlothian.gov.uk

Moray Council – John Watson john.watson@moray.gov.uk

North Ayrshire Council – Kenneth McQuade kennethmcquade@north-ayrshire.gov.uk

North Lanarkshire Council – Hugh Holt healthandsafety@northlan.gov.uk

Orkney Islands – Alan Tait health.safety@orkney.gov.uk

Orkney Islands Council – Les Donaldson les.donaldson@orkney.gov.uk

Perth and Kinross Council – Mike Law mlaw@pkc.gov.uk

Renfrewshire Council – Steven Fanning steven.fanning@renfrewshire.gov.uk

Scottish Borders Council – Stuart Ford sford@scotborders.gov.uk

Shetland Islands Council – Fiona Johnson fiona.johnson@shetland.gov.uk

South Ayrshire Council – Stephanie McClure corporate.safety@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

South Lanarkshire Council – Neil Addie neil.addie@southlanarkshire.gov.uk

Stirling Council – Norman Macleod corporatehealthandsafety@stirling.gov.uk

West Dunbartonshire Council – Stephen Gallagher stephen.gallagher@west-dunbarton.gov.uk

West Lothian Council – Margaret Harris ces@westlothian.gov.uk

About equipment co-ordinators

Equipment co-ordinators help to manage equipment-related risks in their organisation by liaising with IRIC.

How we work with equipment co-ordinators

  • We share information about reports sent to IRIC by their organisation.
  • We arrange meetings, conferences and workshops where they can raise issues and share learnings.
  • We work together on education and training programmes to promote medical device and equipment safety.

Chief executives are responsible for assigning equipment co-ordinators. They should ensure the role is always filled.

If your Equipment Co-ordinator changes, let us know. Email nss.iric@nhs.scot.