Skip to main content

beta This is a new site, your feedback will help us to improve it.

Find your Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer

Published on 24 June 2021

What do Incidents and Alerts Safety Officers do?

Incidents and Alerts Safety Officers work closely with IRIC to manage equipment-related risks in NHS health boards or local authorities.

How we work with Incidents and Alerts Safety Officers

  • We share the information they give us with other local authorities and health boards
  • We organise meetings, conferences and workshops where they can raise specific issues and share what they’ve learned with others
  • We work together with them on education and training programmes to promote the safety of medical devices and equipment

The responsible officers in an organisation are responsible for appointing the Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer and making sure there is always someone in the role. You can find out more about the role of the responsible Director in SHTN 00-04, Guidance on the management of medical devices and equipment in Scotland’s health and social care systems.

If your Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer changes, let us know by emailing us at nss.iric@nhs.scot.

If you work for an NHS board or local authority, find out who your Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer is below:

NHS boards

NHS Ayrshire and Arran – Katie Bryant safetynoticedistributionmanager@aapct.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Borders – Shona Milne procurement@borders.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Dumfries and Galloway – David F Bryson david.bryson@nhs.scot

NHS Fife – Iain Forrest fife.safetyalerts@nhs.scot

NHS Forth Valley – Cameron Raeburn fv.alerts.safety@nhs.scot

NHS Grampian – Andrew Wood gram.safetyalertssystem@nhs.scot

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde – John Green healthandsafety.alerts@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Highland – Mirian Morrison mirian.morrison@nhs.scot

NHS Lanarkshire – William McManus ecd@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Lothian – Jo Bennett safety.alert@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Orkney – Stewart Walls ork.clinicalgovernance@nhs.scot

NHS Shetland – Andrew Humphrey shet.h-s@nhs.scot

NHS Tayside – Jean Ngoie Tay.clinicalgovernanceriskdept@nhs.scot

NHS Western Isles – Ellena MacDonald wi-hb.equipcoord@nhs.net

NHS Golden Jubilee – Steven Friel equipmentcoordinator@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk

NHS National Services Scotland – Norman Mclean norman.mclean@nhs.scot

Scottish Ambulance Service – Sarah Jane Stevenson sarahjayne.stevenson@nhs.scot

The State Hospital – Allan Hardy TSH.RiskManagementTeam@nhs.scot

Local authorities

Aberdeen City Council – Carol Fraser carolfraser@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Aberdeenshire Council – Andy Priest andrew.priest@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

Angus Council – Paul Conroy safety@angus.gov.uk

Argyll and Bute Council – Fiona Campbell Fiona.Campbell13@nhs.scot

Bon Accord Care – Liz Watt lwatt@bonaccordcare.org

City of Edinburgh Council – Sylvia Latona sylvia.latona@edinburgh.gov.uk

Clackmannanshire Council – Seonaid Scott hands@clacks.gov.uk

Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council) – Kirsty Street kstreet@cne-siar.gsx.gov.uk

Dumfries and Galloway Council – Ann-Marie Connolly ann-marie.connolly@dumgal.gov.uk

Dundee City Council – Mark Henderson mark.henderson01@dundeecity.gov.uk

East Ayrshire Council – Craig Ross mda@east-ayrshire.gov.uk

East Dunbartonshire Council – Vandrew McLean Vandrew.McLean@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

East Renfrewshire Council – Chris Peacock chris.peacock@eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk

Falkirk Council – Michael Durrington health.safety@falkirk.gov.uk

Fife Council – Emma Collins emma.collins@fife.gov.uk

Glasgow City Council (1) – Kirsten Paterson (Equipment Co-ordinator) kirsten.paterson@sw.glasgow.gov.uk

Glasgow City Council (2) – Anne Findlay (Loan Store Manager) anne.findlay@glasgow.gov.uk

Highland Council – Gena Falconer healthsafetyandwellbeing@highland.gov.uk

Inverclyde Council – Pauline Ramsay health.safety@inverclyde.gov.uk

Midlothian Council – Mark Hinchliffe mark.hinchliffe@midlothian.gov.uk

Moray Council – John Watson john.watson@moray.gov.uk

North Ayrshire Council – Kenneth McQuade kennethmcquade@north-ayrshire.gov.uk

North Lanarkshire Council – Hugh Holt healthandsafety@northlan.gov.uk

Orkney Islands Council – Les Donaldson les.donaldson@orkney.gov.uk

Perth and Kinross Council – Mike Law mlaw@pkc.gov.uk

Renfrewshire Council – Steven Fanning steven.fanning@renfrewshire.gov.uk

Scottish Borders Council – Stuart Ford sford@scotborders.gov.uk

Shetland Islands Council – Fiona Johnson fiona.johnson@shetland.gov.uk

South Ayrshire Council – Stephanie McClure corporate.safety@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

South Lanarkshire Council – Neil Addie neil.addie@southlanarkshire.gov.uk

Stirling Council – Norman Macleod corporatehealthandsafety@stirling.gov.uk

West Dunbartonshire Council – Stephen Gallagher stephen.gallagher@west-dunbarton.gov.uk

West Lothian Council – Margaret Harris ces@westlothian.gov.uk