Skip to main content

Find your Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer

Published on 21 May 2024

What do Incidents and Alerts Safety Officers do?

Every health board and local authority in Scotland has an Incidents and alerts Safety Officer (ISO). Together, they make up the Incidents and alerts Safety Officer Network (ISON).

ISOs work closely with IRIC to manage equipment-related risks in health boards and local authorities.

How we work with ISOs

  • we share the information they give us with other health boards and local authorities
  • we organise meetings, spotlight sessions and workshops where they can raise specific issues, gain valuable insights, and share what they’ve learned with others
  • we work together with them on education and training programmes to promote the safety of medical devices and equipment.

Who appoints ISOs?

The chief executive in an organisation is responsible for appointing the ISO and making sure there is always someone to cover the role. You can find out more in these publications:

  • CEL 43 (2009) Safety of health, social care, estates and facilities equipment: NHS Board and local authority responsibilities
  • SHTN00-04 Guidance on the management of medical devices and equipment in Scotland’s health and social care systems.

Find your ISO

If you work for an NHS board or local authority, you can find out who your ISO is by checking the list below.

It’s vital we ensure this list is as accurate as possible. If you think the list is out of date, possibly because the person listed as ISO has left or moved to another post, please let us know by emailing us at nss.iric@nhs.scot.

NHS board ISOs

NHS Ayrshire and Arran – Debbie McCard Debbie.McCard@aapct.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Borders – Shona Milne procurement@borders.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Dumfries and Galloway – David F Bryson david.bryson@nhs.scot

NHS Fife – Iain Forrest fife.safetyalerts@nhs.scot

NHS Forth Valley – Cameron Raeburn fv.alerts.safety@nhs.scot

NHS Grampian – Andrew Wood gram.safetyalertssystem@nhs.scot

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde – David Mains healthandsafety.alerts@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Highland – Mirian Morrison mirian.morrison@nhs.scot

NHS Lanarkshire – William McManus ecd@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Lothian – Jo Bennett safety.alert@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Orkney – Lawrence Green lawrence.green@nhs.scot

NHS Shetland – Lawrence Green shet.h-s@nhs.scot

NHS Tayside – Robert McKinnes robert.mckinnes@nhs.scot

NHS Western Isles – Ellena MacDonald wi-hb.equipcoord@nhs.net

NHS Golden Jubilee – Steven Friel equipmentcoordinator@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk

NHS National Services Scotland – Norman Mclean norman.mclean@nhs.scot

Scottish Ambulance Service – Sarah Jayne Stevenson SarahJayne.Stevenson@nhs.scot

The State Hospital – Allan Hardy TSH.RiskManagementTeam@nhs.scot

Local authority ISOs

Aberdeen City Council – Carol Fraser carolfraser@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Aberdeenshire Council – Andy Priest andrew.priest@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

Angus Council – Paul Conroy safety@angus.gov.uk

Argyll and Bute Council – Christiane Tanner christiane.tanner@nhs.scot

Bon Accord Care – Denise Cowie OTStore@bonaccordcare.org

City of Edinburgh Council – Ian Read ian.read@edinburgh.gov.uk

Clackmannanshire Council – Seonaid Scott hands@clacks.gov.uk

Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council) – Kirsty Street kstreet@cne-siar.gsx.gov.uk

Dumfries and Galloway Council – Ann-Marie Connolly ann-marie.connolly@dumgal.gov.uk

Dundee City Council – Mark Henderson mark.henderson01@dundeecity.gov.uk

East Ayrshire Council – Steve Chipchase mda@east-ayrshire.gov.uk

East Dunbartonshire Council – Vandrew McLean Vandrew.McLean@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

East Renfrewshire Council – Chris Peacock chris.peacock@eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk

Falkirk Council – Michael Durrington health.safety@falkirk.gov.uk

Fife Council – Renny Thomson renny.thomson@fife.gov.uk

Glasgow City Council (1) – Kirsten Paterson (Equipment Co-ordinator) kirsten.paterson@sw.glasgow.gov.uk

Glasgow City Council (2) – David Montgomery (Loan Store Manager) David.Montgomery@glasgow.gov.uk

Highland Council – David Cowie healthsafetyandwellbeing@highland.gov.uk

Inverclyde Council – David Strain health.safety@inverclyde.gov.uk

Midlothian Council – David Robertson healthandsafety@midlothian.gov.uk

Moray Council – John Watson john.watson@moray.gov.uk

North Ayrshire Council – Kenneth McQuade kennethmcquade@north-ayrshire.gov.uk

North Lanarkshire Council – Carrie MacLeod EAS@northlan.gov.uk

Orkney Islands Council – Bryan Baldwin Bryan.Baldwin@orkney.gov.uk

Perth and Kinross Council – Lorna Hamilton LFHamilton@pkc.gov.uk

Renfrewshire Council – Steven Fanning steven.fanning@renfrewshire.gov.uk

Scottish Borders Council – Stuart Ford sford@scotborders.gov.uk

Shetland Islands Council – Fiona Johnson fiona.johnson@shetland.gov.uk

South Ayrshire Council – Louise MacLeod louise.macleod2@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

South Lanarkshire Council – Stuart Hamilton stuart.hamilton@southlanarkshire.gov.uk

Stirling Council – Norman Macleod corporatehealthandsafety@stirling.gov.uk

West Dunbartonshire Council – Stephen Gallagher stephen.gallagher@west-dunbarton.gov.uk

West Lothian Council – Margaret Harris ces@westlothian.gov.uk