Skip to main content

Find your Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer

Published on 23 November 2023

What do Incidents and Alerts Safety Officers do?

Incidents and Alerts Safety Officers work closely with IRIC to manage equipment-related risks in NHS health boards or local authorities.

How we work with Incidents and Alerts Safety Officers

  • We share the information they give us with other local authorities and health boards
  • We organise meetings, conferences and workshops where they can raise specific issues and share what they’ve learned with others
  • We work together with them on education and training programmes to promote the safety of medical devices and equipment

The responsible officers in an organisation are responsible for appointing the Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer and making sure there is always someone in the role. You can find out more about the role of the responsible Director in SHTN 00-04, Guidance on the management of medical devices and equipment in Scotland’s health and social care systems.

If your Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer changes, let us know by emailing us at

If you work for an NHS board or local authority, find out who your Incidents and Alerts Safety Officer is below:

NHS boards

NHS Ayrshire and Arran – Debbie McCard

NHS Borders – Shona Milne

NHS Dumfries and Galloway – David F Bryson

NHS Fife – Iain Forrest

NHS Forth Valley – Cameron Raeburn

NHS Grampian – Andrew Wood

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde – David Mains

NHS Highland – Mirian Morrison

NHS Lanarkshire – William McManus

NHS Lothian – Jo Bennett

NHS Orkney – Lawrence Green

NHS Shetland – Lawrence Green

NHS Tayside – Robert McKinnes

NHS Western Isles – Ellena MacDonald

NHS Golden Jubilee – Steven Friel

NHS National Services Scotland – Norman Mclean

Scottish Ambulance Service – Sarah Jayne Stevenson

The State Hospital – Allan Hardy

Local authorities

Aberdeen City Council – Carol Fraser

Aberdeenshire Council – Andy Priest

Angus Council – Paul Conroy

Argyll and Bute Council – Margo Howatson

Bon Accord Care – Sarah Wilson

City of Edinburgh Council – Ian Read

Clackmannanshire Council – Seonaid Scott

Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council) – Kirsty Street

Dumfries and Galloway Council – Ann-Marie Connolly

Dundee City Council – Mark Henderson

East Ayrshire Council – Steve Chipchase

East Dunbartonshire Council – Vandrew McLean

East Renfrewshire Council – Chris Peacock

Falkirk Council – Michael Durrington

Fife Council – Renny Thomson

Glasgow City Council (1) – Kirsten Paterson (Equipment Co-ordinator)

Glasgow City Council (2) – David Montgomery (Loan Store Manager)

Highland Council – David Cowie

Inverclyde Council – Pauline Ramsay

Midlothian Council – Grant Kenny

Moray Council – John Watson

North Ayrshire Council – Kenneth McQuade

North Lanarkshire Council – Hugh Holt

Orkney Islands Council – Alan Tait

Perth and Kinross Council – Ruth Turner

Renfrewshire Council – Steven Fanning

Scottish Borders Council – Stuart Ford

Shetland Islands Council – Fiona Johnson

South Ayrshire Council – Louise MacLeod

South Lanarkshire Council – Neil Addie

Stirling Council – Norman Macleod

West Dunbartonshire Council – Stephen Gallagher

West Lothian Council – Margaret Harris